Categories
#Life lessons

Let’s talk

Hi besties, how are you guys doing ? Has the isolation gotten to you yet ? or your good ( you don’t mind staying at home for another month?)

Today, I thought we’d talk about something different. Something we often neglect because we all assume we are good.

How have you been able to stay hopeful, upbeat and at peace amidst isolation. I think for me, I have really enjoyed hearing friendly voices, spending time with Abba , eating,reading and watching awesome rom/com (I’m a romantic , but I’m not hopeless o😂). I rarely go out except I need to get essentials.

Staying at home for the most part of this Isolation period has finally gotten to me. I have quickly realised how comfort doesn’t equate to freedom. Honestly, freedom is Bliss. To think that we take things like (breathing without assistance, going out as we please, having somewhere to lay our head, having the capacity to use our faculties freely ) for granted,is something I can’t comprehend.

Anyway, I developed a new habit. I’ve started taking walks( once a week tho🤐) I know its really not a big deal but for me, its a big step 💪towards appreciating and making peace with the world as it is. Honestly, I’m not one for walks because ordinarily, my daily/weekly activity already incorporate walking 🙄 but with the new normal, I’ve learnt to just enjoy little things. When I walk, I take time to observe my environment, admire the lush green leaves, marvel at the gloomy blue sky, gaze at the uneven tarred road and be thankful for the beauty around me.

If you can, take this exercise. Look out the window, step outside your space, take a restricted walk(if you think it’s safe) and just admire the beauty around you and find reasons to be thankful for life. It’s true that your environment might look dismal but if you are able to see the sun or enjoy the coolness of the rain then your good.

I have learnt that finding blessings to hold unto in the midst of chaos, is often a good way to distract the mind and keep hope alive☺.

Share with me some of the things you’ve been doing to keep hope alive, let’s learn from one another.

Sending you lots of love and light, Nnedi 💞

By sharelifewithnnedi

Nnedi is a lawyer, writer and lifestyle blogger based in Nigeria. She's committed to inspiring others to live their best life through sharing content on faith, relationships and personal development as she navigates her way through life.

3 replies on “Let’s talk”

To stay sane, I’ve been reading a lot of novels. I watch the boys in my street play ball. I make goofy videos of me doing something silly. I record my voice while singing and listen to it over and over, to convince myself that my singing voice is not a complete disaster, lol.

Like

Leave a comment